本杰明·阿普尔: 地下室花圃

2017年08月3日 - 09月17日

《地下室花圃》是德国艺术家本杰明·阿普尔在中国的首次个展。展览以“矩形”这一生活中随处可见但在自然界中无迹可寻的几何形状为灵感,展示阿普尔于2016和2017年在北京两次驻留期间创作的油画、装置及影像文字作品。

 

阿普尔出生在德国奥格斯堡,孩提时代便随家人移居厄瓜多尔,并在秘鲁、玻利维亚和智利等地生活过。十五年后,他因求学回到德国。阿普尔的作品体现了跨文化主义的概念——从周遭的生活环境与多样文化中吸取图像经验和观念。他当前的创作实践关注自然、空间、负空间、物质性、都市化,以及平常但不平凡的日常事物之美。展览展示了画廊空间的墙体、空间和视线,甚至建筑本身的纵横,是如何与日常材料、物体和画布交织成统一整体,本质上画廊空间是一件有着完整概念的作品。

 

展厅中两件占据了大部分空间的装置分别题为《地下室花圃》和《阁楼中的花圃》,日常材料和几何结构使空间透露出平静、朴素、不安,却也蕴含着能量和些许诗意;油画作品则以阿普尔从2015年便开始创作的《将桌子置于角落》系列为延伸,画面上堆叠着过百层矩形色块,色彩鲜明有力;而分布于两层展厅的文字,则是对影像《花圃中的鱼》中动物们单调却知足的内心世界的想象。

 

在构成主义、极简主义的形态和当代之间游离,本杰明·阿普尔用“地下室花圃”创造了一个脆弱且感性的空间。盛放着新鲜铸造出的水泥、石膏和金属框架,以及十几幅几何抽象油画和影像文字作品,阿普尔平衡着有关观念、场地和材料的抽象意味。

Benjamin Appel: Flowerbed in the Cellar

3 August - 17 September 2017

Flowerbed in the Cellar is the first solo exhibition in China by German artist Benjamin Appel. Inspired by the geometry of rectangular forms, a familiar structure in daily life, the shape itself does not appear in nature.  The exhibition brings together oil paintings, site-specific installations and video work with an associated text by Appel developed during two PIFO residencies in Beijing, one in 2016 and 2017.

 

Born in Augsburg, Germany, Appel’s family moved to Ecuador when he was a small child.  Fifteen years later he moved back to Germany to study and has since lived in Peru, Bolivia and Santiago de Chile.  Appel embodies the notion of transculturalism – absorbing images and ideas from his environment and the diverse cultures in which he has lived.  His current practice reflects on nature, space, negative space, materiality, urbanism and the mundane – yet fascinating – beauty of everyday objects.  This exhibition demonstrates how the existing walls of the gallery, its spaces and sightlines, even the horizontals and verticals of the architecture, can all be woven together with contemporary materials, objects and painted canvases to form a coherent whole that is, in essence, one total work of art.

 

The two new large-scale site-specific installations occupying much of the gallery space are titled Flowerbed in the Cellar and Flowerbed in the Attic.  Created using simple materials, the geometric organization of the elements makes the space as a whole appear static, austere and unsettled but at the same time filled with energy and strangely poetic.  The paintings, produced by the overlapping of more than 100 layers of rectangular blocks of vivid colour, are part of the series Putting the Table in the Corner that began in 2015.  The artist text, distributed across the two floors of the gallery, is a tragicomic reflection on the tedious but nonetheless contented inner world of the animal in the video work Fish in the Flowerbed.

 

Located somewhere between constructivist utopias, minimalistic gestures and the here and now, Benjamin Appel creates a fragile but also sensual, in part even frightening, model of space.  Using newly constructed objects of concrete, plaster and metal, alongside 14 geometric, abstract paintings, text and video works, Appel balances the abstract meaning of space as concept, location and material.