恩里科·巴赫: 如果·但是

2016年06月16日 - 08月7日

恩里科·巴赫作品的艺术语言以直角线条为主,棱角分明,技术精准。它们展示了由尺寸和比例确认的几何原理和几何图形世界。观者只有细细观察之后才会发现,无论是单个图形还是整体图像都蕴含深意,让人不禁想起建筑立面、存储系统和盒子。

 

对于颜色的应用也有双重意义,巴赫用颜色赋予几何图形艺术之美。他的画作一方面富有科技感,一方面又和艺术微妙地结合,互为载体。通过采用特别的颜色和色调以及技巧高超的线条,巴赫鼓励观者从二维(图形)以及三维(物体)两个方面做考量。

 

巴赫绘图结构的魅力在于,画面中出现光点。他有意识地引入空间效果、阴影线、轮廓或通过某个静物暗示视角,构建虚拟空间。这种技法使得画面产生光学效果,类似浮雕或在画面表面做突起效果。而一旦意识到这是一种视觉错觉,就会立即被严格的二维空间打破,迫使观者回到二维世界中。

 

平面和空间与色彩相得益彰,引导观者的感知。

 

恩里科·巴赫在技法上的优势与掌控透视和纵深影响的能力为他的作品赋予了个人化烙印,此外更是建立起一种“异质感”:创作过程中的即兴、偶发性及后期作品中的关联开放性。当“异质感”被揭开并逐渐颠覆直至茫然,他画作中的精湛技巧则渐入佳境。

Enrico Bach: With Ifs and Buts

16 June - 7 August 2016

Enrico Bach’s paintings manifest most often through the repeated use of a dominant right angle motif, sharp forms and hard edges, all executed with extraordinary technical precision. Measure and proportion are used to define single forms and/or groups that in turn reflect specific geometries and, more broadly, the geometric world of ‘forms’. Under further investigation it becomes apparent that these forms hint at three-dimensional objects redolent of architectural facades, boxes or storage systems. 


Both these divergent aspects of the geometric form are amplified by Bach’s choice of colour. While his motifs are, on one hand robust and ‘technoid’, almost engineered in terms of accuracy, they are at the same time realised with great subtlety.  Using a very specific palette of colours and tones, Bach encourages the viewer to consider the forms as both two-dimensional (painted shapes) and three-dimensional (painted objects), employing with great skill both linear and colour perspective.


Bach's paintings are constructed in such a way that they gain a sort of luminosity or glow. Through the conscious introduction of three-dimensional spatial effects – using a line of shadow, a contour or a suggestion of perspective – he is able to transform a part of a painting into an object within an illusion of space. His process allows him to produce an optical effect similar to embossing or debossing, or to create sections that appear to protrude from the painting surface. Having realised a sort of trompe l’oeil effect Bach immediately undermines it, forcing the viewer once again into a strict appreciation of the two-dimensional composition.


Surface and space are in a tense dialogue with colour.


As much as Enrico Bach's oeuvre appears to be characterised by the dominance of his technical skill and ability to control perspective and depth effects, he has also developed a feeling for the 'otherness' of his paintings: spontaneity, haphazardness in the painting process and associative openness in the final work. The technical virtuosity of his paintings seduce only then to disclose the ‘otherness’ that in turn subverts and disorientates.