抽象,一种绘画修辞 中德艺术比较研究: 抽象群展第十一回

2018年07月21日 - 09月2日

策展人:艾墨思

 

偏锋新艺术空间将荣幸呈现画廊年度展览《抽象群展》的第十一回,此次展览将汇聚来自中国和德国的艺术家。德国艺术有着极为深厚的绘画性抽象传统,自1945年第二次世界大战结束之后的奠基时期起,即引领发起了卡塞尔文献展等其他重要展览。因此,德国艺术家对于很多中国艺术家而言有着重要的借鉴意义。

 

中国极具影响力的当代艺术家谭平,曾于90年代初期在德国学习。他的艺术作品与伯纳德·舒尔茨(1915-2005)和卡尔·弗雷德·达门(1917-1981)的作品并重,这两位德国艺术家的作品普遍被囊括在德国重要的美术馆和私人收藏中,偏锋画廊有幸首次在中国呈现他们的艺术作品。

 

-----------------------------------------------

 

作为中国专注于抽象艺术研究与发展的主要画廊,此次展览,偏锋新艺术空间带来目前中国极具声望的、与画廊已经合作了很长一段时间的抽象艺术家:王川、张羽和康海涛等,以及几位来自德国的抽象艺术家。

 

抽象艺术的发展历程漫长、复杂且具有很强的国际性。如果没有亚洲艺术的潜在影响,欧洲及之后的美国现代主义艺术不会经由相似的路径发展。同样,1978年改革开放之后,中国艺术家们开始将目光转向西方艺术和艺术家,试图与全球语境下的当代艺术重新建立联系。很多艺术家关注到德国艺术,亦或选择去德国深造,归国后开启职业生涯。此次参展的两位艺术家,谭平、何健分别于1989年至1994年、2005年至2011年在德国学习。其他参展艺术家都彼此相熟,与画廊关系良好。

 

其余六位参展的德国艺术家中,伯纳德·舒尔茨和卡尔·弗雷德·达门是德国战后(在经历灾难般的纳粹统治时期后重返文化国家的重要时刻)艺术的先驱者。德国艺术的重生是他们齐心协力努力的结果,并在创立文献展时期达到顶峰。

 

中德年轻一代的艺术家们不仅揭示了抽象绘画在不同文化半球之间的交流与联系,也连接着不同的世代传承与探索创新。此次展览也将诠释在全球化和数字化的背景下,抽象绘画仍然是一种强有力的艺术实践,绘画修辞仍旧是一种极具创造性的艺术语言。

 

本质上,此次展览可看作是在全球语境下探索当代抽象艺术实践的一个试点。

  

-----------------------------------------------

 

Bernard Schultze 伯纳德·舒尔茨 (1915 - 2005) Germany 德国

Karl Fred Dahmen 卡尔·弗雷德·达门 (1917 - 1981) Germany 德国

Julio Rondo 胡里奥·朗多 (b.1952) Spain and Germany 西班牙,德国

Wang Chuan  王川 (b.1953) China 中国

Chen Xinmao  陈心懋 (b.1954) China 中国

Zhang Yu  张羽 (b.1959) China 中国

Tan Ping  谭平 (b.1960) China 中国

Liu Jian  刘坚 (b.1961) China 中国

Shi Jun 石峻 (b.1963) China 中国

Huang Jia  黄佳 (b.1964) China 中国

Kang Haitao  康海涛 (b.1976) China 中国

Benjamin Appel 本杰明·阿普尔 (b.1978) Germany 德国

Wang Guangxu 王光旭 (b.1978) China 中国

Enrico Bach 恩里科·巴赫 (b.1980) Germany 德国

He Jian 何健 (b. 1980) China 中国

Carolina Pérez Pallares 卡罗莉娜·佩雷斯·帕拉雷斯 (b. 1980) Ecuador and Germany 厄瓜多尔,德国

Abstraction As Painterly Rhetoric. A Case Study Between Germany and China: Abstract Art 11

July 21 - September 2, 2018

Curated by Thomas Eller, Beijing

 

PIFO Gallery is delighted to present the annual exhibition Abstract Art already in its 11th iteration. This year the gallery brings together artists from China and Germany. Germany has an extraordinarily strong tradition in painterly abstraction, since its founding moment after 1945, leading up to the founding of documenta, Kassel and beyond.  Consequently artists from Germany have been a source of reference for many Chinese artists.

 

The highly influential artist Tan Ping studied in Germany in the early 1990. His paintings are juxtaposed with works by Bernard Schultze (1915 - 2005) and Karl Fred Dahmen (1917 - 1981), who are to be found in all major museums and private collections in Germany. PIFO Gallery is proud to be the first gallery to present their paintings in China.


-----------------------------------------------


The exhibition at PIFO gallery brings together some of the most renowned abstract artists in China at present, like Wang Chuan, ZhangYu and Kang Haitao, who have worked with the gallery for an extended period of time already, with artists from Germany. PIFO gallery has a strong focus on abstraction in art and is the foremost gallery in China in that field.

 

Abstraction in art is a long, complex and also international affair. Without the influence of Asian art, modernism in Europe and later the USA would never have developed the same way. And reversely, artists in China after the opening up of the country in 1978 have looked at Western art and artists in order to re-connect to contemporary art on a global scale. Interestingly enough a lot of artist have looked at German art, or gone to Germany to study, only to return and start their careers here in China. Two artists in the exhibition have studied in Germany, Tan Ping (1989-94) and He Jian (2005-11). The others are associated to each other and/or the gallery in friendship.

 

Also presented are six artists from Germany. Two of them, Bernard Schultze and K.F. Dahmen, were part of a founding generation of German artist immediately after the second world war – a moment that was essential in the development of Germany to become a nation of culture again after the disastrous Nazi-period. The rebirth of German art came as a concerted effort that culminated in the creation of documenta.

 

The younger artists in the exhibition from both countries, China and Germany show that abstraction not only communicates between the different cultural hemispheres, but also connects very different generations. The exhibition demonstrates just how powerful abstraction in painting can still be as artistic practice under the premise of globalization and digitalization and how painterly rhetoric can still be extremely inventive as artistic language.

 

In essence, the exhibition can be understood as a pilot of sorts for an ongoing investigation into abstraction as contemporary artistic practice on a global scale.

 

-----------------------------------------------

 

Bernard Schultze 伯纳德·舒尔茨 (1915 - 2005) Germany 德国

Karl Fred Dahmen 卡尔·弗雷德·达门 (1917 - 1981) Germany 德国

Julio Rondo 胡里奥·朗多 (b.1952) Spain and Germany 西班牙,德国

Wang Chuan  王川 (b.1953) China 中国

Chen Xinmao  陈心懋 (b.1954) China 中国

Zhang Yu  张羽 (b.1959) China 中国

Tan Ping  谭平 (b.1960) China 中国

Liu Jian  刘坚 (b.1961) China 中国

Shi Jun 石峻 (b.1963) China 中国

Huang Jia  黄佳 (b.1964) China 中国

Kang Haitao  康海涛 (b.1976) China 中国

Benjamin Appel 本杰明·阿普尔 (b.1978) Germany 德国

Wang Guangxu 王光旭 (b.1978) China 中国

Enrico Bach 恩里科·巴赫 (b.1980) Germany 德国

He Jian 何健 (b. 1980) China 中国

Carolina Pérez Pallares 卡罗莉娜·佩雷斯·帕拉雷斯 (b. 1980) Ecuador and Germany 厄瓜多尔,德国